Sacred Heart Knights Council 5207 changes name

At its annual meeting in Philadelphia, the Knights of Columbus supreme board of directors voted to approve changing the Sacred Heart Cathedral Parish council name to Sacred Heart Cathedral Council 5207 from the Vincent J. Gleason Council.

“The change in our name represents a new era for our council and helps emphasize its commitment to supporting our Shepherd, our parish and our magnificent new cathedral,” said Jimmy Dee, Grand Knight for the Sacred Heart Cathedral council.

“We eagerly look forward to continuing our tradition of supporting mother Church and all of her teachings as an amazing fraternity of brothers in Christ.”

Sacred Heart Knight Tom Greer oversees the barbecue at the Knights of Columbus summer picnic at the Concord Yacht Club. Mr. Greer is the chancellor for Council 5207 and was named its Knight of the year. 

The Knights of Columbus is the world’s largest Catholic lay organization, with more than 2 million members. It provides members and their families with volunteer opportunities in service to the Catholic Church, the community, families and young people.

In 2014, the Knights of Columbus at all levels of the organization raised and distributed $170 million for charity and rendered 70 million hours of volunteer service.

Knights of Columbus Sacred Heart Cathedral Council 5207 represents and serves Sacred Heart Cathedral Parish and meets regularly in closed meetings every first Monday.

If you are interested in joining the Knights of Columbus, contact Mr. Dee at 865-809-3825 or

The cathedral council recognized the services of many of its members at a family-themed picnic over the summer at the Concord Yacht Club. Festivities included inflatable bounce houses, water slides, dunking tanks, swimming, and loads of award-winning barbecue.

More than 150 parishioners attended the daylong event that helped recognize the contributions of several outstanding knights. Tom Greer received the highest council honor by becoming Knight of the year for Council 5207, with Russ and Cindy Carvin also being honored as the council’s family of the year. Additional awards for outstanding contributions were given to Casey Guinan, Steve Garvin, Greg Guyotte, Eric Boder, Jim Manning, and John O’Connor.

Officers for the 2015 fraternal year for the cathedral council are: Grand Knight Jimmy Dee, deputy Grand Knight Shawn Comerford, recorder Greg Guyotte, financial secretary Jim Manning, treasurer Russ Carvin, advocate Gerard Jabaley, chancellor Tom Greer, warden Scott Elmore, inside guard John O’Connor, outside guard Chester Pun-Cheun, lecturer Scott Maentz, three-year trustee Jim Bruun, two-year trustee Tom Ciaccia, and one-year trustee Herstle Cross.

Cardinal Justin Rigali was named honorary lifetime chaplain of Council 5207.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *